Excuses

I feel like I need a new laptop before I can do NaNoWriMo. The Shift key is broken on the left side of my computer’s keyboard. I keep jamming it into place, but inevitably, it falls back off, wiggling out of place like a loose tooth. I try to awkwardly use the other Shift key instead, but being forced to coax my right pinky to hit the right Shift key sends me into a blind panic. Under such circumstances, how will I write 2,000 words a day in November? Not to mention blog, send email, IM, type “Click Next”? Everything must grind to a halt until I can get myself a laptop with a functional left Shift key. Can we postpone November while I convince my husband to spend two grand on a Macbook? Or maybe I will just do NaNoWriMo next year. Yes. Better. The economy and all. Who has two grand to blow?

Anyway. This is what goes on in my head. This is how I procrastinate. I know it’s unreasonable, but it’s what I do: I obsess over minute details to keep myself from producing anything.

I just realized the left Control key is also loose. I don’t even want to go down that road.

One response to “Excuses

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Week 2 « Writer: Blocked