Starting

I intended to start NaNo last night at midnight. By 9:30, I was struggling to keep my eyes open, and by 11, I had fully convinced myself to go to bed. It had been a completely draining day, with multiple Halloween parties and, of course, trick-or-treating. I didn’t wake up once until 7:45 am.

I am not sorry I didn’t stay up until midnight, but I am concerned that this morning I felt no more like writing than I did last night. My enthusiasm, where did I put it?

However, despite these setbacks, I did get up and go straight to my computer – well, I stopped for a bowl of Cheerios. As I was pouring the milk, I heard footsteps, and the next thing I knew, everyone else in the house was up. I persevered and brought my laptop into the living room, leaving the rest of them in the family room playing Mario Kart. I put in ear plugs and went to work.

I’ll be honest: it was like pulling teeth. I set the timer so I would have a goal: write for one hour like I’d planned to do last night. I made it to the one-hour mark, but every minute was slow-going. I am so not feeling it. Hopefully, as the day goes on, I will get back into the spirit.

One response to “Starting

  1. This is my eighth attempt to cross that 50,000 word finish line. Some years it rougher than others, but it’s always worth it.

    I love being a part of NaNo. I made an e-book at YUDU this year to promote the event. I took some info from the site and threw it together.