Motivation Killers

I always walk a tight line between motivated and unmotivated. My motivation can vaporize so quickly that it’s amazing I get any writing done at all. So I try to avoid thinking about things that are likely to zap my NaNo energy. Among them (every one petty):

– People who reply, upon hearing that I’m doing NaNo, “I tried that last year and I quit after about three days. I just couldn’t do it.” When I hear this, I think, “If he/she can’t do it, why do I think I can do it? Certainly it’s impossible! Who do I think I am?”

– People who reply, “I’m not doing it this year because I’m too busy with [insert name of big world-improving project].” To me, this translates to, “I did it before, and I am perfectly capable of doing it again, but I have moved on to more worthwhile undertakings like helping poor children learn to read and therefore, cannot waste time on your silly project this year.”

– People who reply that their 12-year-old daughters are doing it. I’m not sure why this bothers me. I should be excited that 12-year-olds are writing and taking on such a great challenge. But unfortunately, I’m too immature to be excited and am instead threatened. What if the 12-year-olds finish and I don’t? What if the 12-year-olds finish AND I finish – and therefore I’ve accomplished a feat that is not beyond the ability of a 12-year-old. See? I need to get over this one.

Luckily, I think I realize that these people mean no harm and their replies have nothing to do with me. And really, sometimes the comments actually motivate me to write more, if only to show them that it can be done.

Comments are closed.