Don’t drink and write

On Friday, I stayed up late and wrote, while having a couple glasses of wine. It’s not unusual for me to have a glass or two of wine while I write, but for some reason, maybe because I was tired, the next day I couldn’t remember what I’d written. What had my characters been up to? Where had I left them? I went back a few paragraphs to figure out what was going on. I was surprised to find Kurt standing in someone’s living room (it turned out to be his own), jingling his keys and asking the main character if she was ready to go. How had MC gotten to Kurt’s and where were they going? After a bit of re-reading, I got my bearings. But it was disconcerting to have blanked on the whole scene. Of course, maybe what I wrote in my drunken stupor was brilliant and I should do this more often. I’m too afraid to re-read the whole segment, though, just in case it does nothing but suck.

One response to “Don’t drink and write

  1. Same applies to ODing on chocolate. Urk.