The end is near

I have been dreading the ending of my novel because I wasn’t sure what would happen. I knew there would be a blow-up between the main character and the guy she’s going to end up with, but how to get them back together? I was obsessing about this to my husband, who is a hardware engineer and has no aspirations to write fiction ever, and he gave me an idea. He didn’t realize he was giving me an idea. He said something kind of silly about puppies, as a joke, and it was like an explosion in my brain as I figured out the ending. Now I want to stay up for hours and finish the story. But I think it’ll be better if I let the idea sit for the night and evolve on its own. Don’t worry; I wrote down the basic premise in several places, lest I wake up tomorrow and draw a blank.

Comments are closed.