Frenzy Trial Run

I gave script-writing a try last night. I used Zhura to write a scene taken from real life: sitting in a waiting room during my kids’ guitar lessons.

As an aside, the building where they have lessons seems to be a former doctor’s office, with a corresponding waiting room. Weird. So rather than explain this weirdness in my script, I just called it a doctor’s office. This meant I had to omit the soundtrack of the 4-year-old singing class in the room to my right: one hour of preschoolers wielding umbrellas, belting out “I’m SIIINNNNGGGGGGGIN’ IN THE RAIN!”

My script-writing experiment was almost as painful as that hour in the waiting room. The scene was so clear in my head, but the process of designating every paragraph as dialogue, parenthetical, or action wore thin. And since I am a rule-follower, I was distracted from my vision by wondering if I was doing something wrong: “Is it OK to put action here? Is that parenthetical too long? Do I need to be so specific about what WOMAN 1 is doing with her hands?”

I’ll try again. But I feel like I am in over my head.

2 responses to “Frenzy Trial Run

  1. She Started It

    I can’t even write dialogue in an essay. In fact, I’d love to take a class in how to write dialogue. Not really for a script, but for essay-writing…

  2. I will teach you an online individual class on how to write dialog. One hour, $40, satisfaction guaranteed. I’m a personal friend of this blogger, so you can use her as a reference for me.

    You can reach me through my blog at http://www.victoriamixon.com. In particular, see February 7, “Understanding dialog”.