I have a blog?

Bygones.

It’s fall. For my mom, fall means nesting. For me, it’s always meant change: going back to school, going off to college, starting a new job, having babies, re-entering the work force after three years at home, buying a house, buying a cabin in the woods.

Fall also means NaNoWriMo.

Last year was my first year. It was life-altering, those 30 days of writing at a frenzied pace and knowing hundreds of others were hunkered over their laptops with me. It was the first time I’d written fiction since high school. And I actually met the goal of filling a few Google Docs with 50,000 words, though they are 50,000 words I never want to see again. For someone who has trouble completing big undertakings (unless there’s money involved or a life depends on my efforts), this was an encouraging experience.

Over the past year, I’ve learned a lot, I think, about writing, mostly thanks to Victoria and her many resources and workshops. And while my NaNoWriMo entry will still be 50,000 words of nonsense requiring hours of editing and reworking, I am excited to see how much better I can do this November than last.

One response to “I have a blog?

  1. Pingback: Purplelicious « She Started It